Top wins for Megan and Artie in Avon Schools’ showdown

MEGAN Hornung cruised to victory in the senior girls’ race at the Avon Schools’ Cross Country Championships on Saturday.

High-fliers: Clubmates Artie Savage-Swain and Finn Goodhew finished one-two in the senior boys race. Photo courtesy of Westbury Harriers

The Bristol Grammar School student, who is a member of Bristol & West AC, was racing for the first time since finishing runner-up at the South West Championships and was clearly a class above her rivals.

“Meg had quite a comfortable win taking the lead around 400 metres and then steadily pulling away,” said her B&W coach Chris Palmer.

“Next up is the South West Schools in two weeks where she expects to have stronger competition.”

There was also a very impressive run by Artie Savage-Swain as he claimed victory in the senior boys’ race. The Colston’s student and Westbury Harrier, where he is coached by Neil Miller, started cautiously but soon took control of the race along with clubmate Finn Goodhew.

Avon Schools’ Cross Country Championships, Failand, Bristol –

APS=Ashton Park; B=Backwell; BC=Beechen Cliff; BGS=Bristol Grammar School; CA=City Academy; CC=Clifton College; Ch=Churchill; Cl=Clevedon; Co=Colston’s;  CS=Chipping Sodbury; G=Gordano; H=Hayesfield; K=Kingswood; KES=King Edward School; MC=Monkton Combe; R=Redmaids; RA=Ralph Allen; RGS=Redland Green School; S=Sidcot; SB=St Brendans; SK=St Katherine’s; W=Wellsway; Wr=Writhlington;

Champion: Megan Hornung

Senior girls: 1 Megan Hornung (BGS); 2 Alice Bridger (B); 3 Annabelle Wallace (MC); 4 Amey Nicholls (W); 5 Ella Treby (BCCS); 6 Grace Ardus (K).

Inter girls: 1 Isobel Cotterill (H); 2 Laura Chance (R ); 3 Zoey Starke (BGS); 4 Sophie Hayes-Hoyle (APS); 5 Talia Hughes (S); 6 Ella Smith (Co).

Junior girls: 1 Estelle Lowe (RGS); 2 Holly Sanigar (W); 3 Gabriela Ritter-Sherratt (CA); 4 Felicity Lowe (RGS); 5 Emma Wolfendon (BGS); 6 Isla Game (MC).

Minor girls: 1 Heidi Martineau (SK); 2 Polly Pennicott (H); 3 Heidi Duncan (G); 4 Leila Huckett (BFS); 5 Caitlin White (CC); 6 Tily Coomber (CC).

Senior boys: 1 Artie Savage-Swaine (Co); 2 Finn Goodhew (RGS); 3 Joe Milton (BC); 4 Steve Kerfoot (SB); 5 Rufus Thomas (QEH); 6 Lawrence Martindale (BC).

Inter boys: 1 Sam Holloway (Cl); 2 Ishmail Bradley (APS); 3 Akira Bees (CS); 4 Herbie Cooksley (Ch); 5 Joe Markey (Wr); 6 Vijay Bikrania (APS).

Junior boys: 1 Ben Jones (Cl); 2 Charlie Haines (K); 3 Joe Finch (Cl); 4 Reuben Wadey (BGS); 5 Stanley Wyatt (RA); 6 Jacob Fleming (MC).

Minor boys: 1 Ewan Sparey (W); 2 Raffi Budd (KES); 3 Rudi Phillips (APS); 4 Ollie Squire (KES); 5 Elijah Buscemi (W); 6 Sidney David (BFS).

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :